Welcome to the new version of CMN!
Some help showing the new functions How-To

How-to: Browsing the forum effectively

Rail plant

Discuss rail plant equipment in this forum.

marshallmp6
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat Nov 20, 2010 4:18 am
Real name: Don Scouller
Location: Queensland. Australia.
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Rail plant

Post #11 by marshallmp6 » Wed Dec 29, 2010 4:17 am

Hello Martyn...... There is obviously a very good reason for it but I can't work out why that Track Cleaner needs two 3300 hp engines to pull it, surley its not that heavy? I don't recall seeing any crawlers on "track trolleys" down under although they may well be about but plenty of modified road vehicles running the rails. Very interesting photos though. Cheers Don.

User avatar

ryanrailengineer
Posts: 63
Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2010 12:09 pm

Rail plant

Post #12 by ryanrailengineer » Wed Dec 29, 2010 8:11 am

The reason the rail cleaner train is pulled by two class 66 is so it's easy to change ends instead of having to move the train to the other side.
Readypower Watford

STATION CAR PARK
KINGS LANGLEY
WATFORD
HERTS
WD4 8LF


Topic author
martyn williams
Posts: 6385
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2008 8:06 pm
Real name: MARTYN WILLIAMS
Location: South Wales
Has thanked: 296 times
Been thanked: 351 times

Re: Rail plant

Post #13 by martyn williams » Wed Dec 29, 2010 12:31 pm

As Ryan says,its to speed up the direction change,both locos are under power as a cable runs through the train.The timings of this train is very strict as they have to run and not interfere with the other trains running or delay them in any way.They are manned by one driver and an operator that jets an lays sandite using a remote control box,he sits in the leading cab with the driver.The water is jetted at 20,000 psi
When I test the equipment,I place a metal plate under the jet nozzle as the water jet will cut the steel rail.They used to use two 1750 hp class 37's but the 3300hp class 66 have replaced them. The train only runs in the leaf season,the locos return to normal duties and the train is decomissioned and serviced for next season. DBS rail runs nearly all these trains and run very close to 100% availability
Martyn


marshallmp6
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat Nov 20, 2010 4:18 am
Real name: Don Scouller
Location: Queensland. Australia.
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Rail plant

Post #14 by marshallmp6 » Thu Dec 30, 2010 4:17 am

Thanks Ryan and Martyn ........ Very interesting.

User avatar

ryanrailengineer
Posts: 63
Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2010 12:09 pm

Rail plant

Post #15 by ryanrailengineer » Thu Dec 30, 2010 9:30 am

No probs
Readypower Watford

STATION CAR PARK
KINGS LANGLEY
WATFORD
HERTS
WD4 8LF


38RBSII
Posts: 37
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2010 11:40 am
Real name: Matt
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Rail plant

Post #16 by 38RBSII » Thu Dec 30, 2010 1:44 pm

Ryan / Martyn,

I am no expert on railway plant, but I seem to recall seeing what looked like rail wagon mounted concrete mixers along with an overhead batching plant on a siding somewhere near Doncaster in the mid nineties. I've never seen that kind of gear before or since. Is it still in use anywhere?

Matt.


Topic author
martyn williams
Posts: 6385
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2008 8:06 pm
Real name: MARTYN WILLIAMS
Location: South Wales
Has thanked: 296 times
Been thanked: 351 times

Re: Rail plant

Post #17 by martyn williams » Thu Dec 30, 2010 5:03 pm

Mat
That train was used to mix concrete for mast and signal bases as it difficult to get road mixers to some sites.During my apprenticeship I worked on all sorts of on track vehicles including ballast cleaners amd Plasser tampers.The type of job that used to be done by the concrete train is now done by road railers with concrete skips.A massive resignalling and track job is now underway on the South Wales mainline.In the yard where I am based,there are 3 Komatsu 41's and 8 road railers along with other types of plant.

User avatar

ryanrailengineer
Posts: 63
Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2010 12:09 pm

Rail plant

Post #18 by ryanrailengineer » Thu Dec 30, 2010 6:24 pm

At readypower we use these they mount on just a normal flatbed rail trailer and operates under the hydraulics from a road rail vehicle we used to use a cement mixer mounted on a truck can't seem to find a picture of it at the moment but if I find it I will post it Image
URL of the original image: http://184.72.239.143/mu/b26d4cc3-b21d-2844.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by ryanrailengineer on Thu Dec 30, 2010 11:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Readypower Watford

STATION CAR PARK
KINGS LANGLEY
WATFORD
HERTS
WD4 8LF

User avatar

ryanrailengineer
Posts: 63
Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2010 12:09 pm

Rail plant

Post #19 by ryanrailengineer » Thu Dec 30, 2010 9:00 pm

Here we go found them we hired this from shovlin plant on the west coast main line project Image
URL of the original image: http://184.72.239.143/mu/b26d4cc3-d694-8b37.jpgImage
URL of the original image: http://184.72.239.143/mu/b26d4cc3-d6b8-6366.jpg
Readypower Watford

STATION CAR PARK
KINGS LANGLEY
WATFORD
HERTS
WD4 8LF


38RBSII
Posts: 37
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2010 11:40 am
Real name: Matt
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Rail plant

Post #20 by 38RBSII » Fri Dec 31, 2010 11:51 am

Thanks Ryan and Martyn.

I'd imagined that there must have been some sort of specialised gear for concreting on railways where access would obviously be an issue for mixer trucks.

My only involvment on railway work was when I organised a delivery of concrete for constructing a ford on the access road for the Trans-Australia Railway as it leaves outback Western Australia for South Australia. No fuel (or water) on this 250 mile return trip, so I had to tow a bowser behind a 4x4 to refuel the trucks on site to get them back to Kalgoorlie.

Matt.


Return to “Rail Plant Equipment”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest