3CX King post

Discuss loaders/backhoes here

Topic author
GTSX

3CX King post

Post #1 by GTSX » Mon Jan 23, 2012 10:21 am

Hi,
Although I've worked on all kinds of stuff in the past I'm new to JCB's. I bought the machine a few years ago over the net with a view to useing it for work but when it turned up it was a dog then 2 hours in to the job the king pin sheared. I got no reponse from the guy I bought it off and since then I've been suffering with depression. I'm a bit better now so it's time to have a look at sorting this machine out.

1981 3CX
The king post has sheared so there's no slew. There's excessive wear in the king pin eyes too. I've consisdered buying a new saddle, pin and bushes but is there someone or somewhere that I could perhaps get the saddle and the post assembly reworked/refurbished to save my costs?
I may need a similar service for the front axle as the eye for the steering king pins are bad too.
Where can I get cheap hydraulic hoses?
Can you get the rams rechromed or is it cheaper/better to get replacements and where from?
Hand brake doesn't work but I will have to strip it downfirst to see what the problem is.

Thanks in advance

diggerjones
Flag: Great Britain

Re: 3CX King post

Post #2 by diggerjones » Mon Jan 23, 2012 10:24 pm

sounds like you have found why you have suffered from depression, sorry cant help it sounds like it is at the end of is hard life. perhaps you should cut your losses and buy a gas axe.

Mark.Rive

Post #3 by Mark.Rive » Mon Jan 23, 2012 10:40 pm

GTSX wrote:Hi,
Although I've worked on all kinds of stuff in the past I'm new to JCB's. I bought the machine a few years ago over the net with a view to useing it for work but when it turned up it was a dog then 2 hours in to the job the king pin sheared. I got no reponse from the guy I bought it off and since then I've been suffering with depression. I'm a bit better now so it's time to have a look at sorting this machine out.

1981 3CX