my new jcb 3dmk3

Discuss loaders/backhoes here

Topic author
mpolly
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2018 1:47 pm
Real name: markus polly
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 1 time
Flag: Austria

my new jcb 3dmk3

Post #1 by mpolly » Tue Apr 03, 2018 3:36 pm

hello there

i recently bought this 3dmk3 for my construction projects


Image
Image
Image

yours markus


agrimax
Posts: 398
Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 9:49 pm
Real name: R
Location: Co Down
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 59 times
Flag: Great Britain

Re: my new jcb 3dmk3

Post #2 by agrimax » Tue Apr 03, 2018 5:44 pm

A very nice Powertrain there Markus.......


essexpete
Posts: 2681
Joined: Fri Jul 13, 2007 12:43 am
Real name: essexpete
Has thanked: 449 times
Been thanked: 274 times

Re: my new jcb 3dmk3

Post #3 by essexpete » Tue Apr 03, 2018 11:25 pm

Yes that looks very straight and with an extending dipper!

ps lovely scenery as well.


Jeremy Rowland
Moderator
Posts: 7098
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 8:36 pm
Real name: Jeremy Rowland
Has thanked: 1140 times
Been thanked: 950 times

Re: my new jcb 3dmk3

Post #4 by Jeremy Rowland » Wed Apr 04, 2018 7:28 am

Hi Markus and welcome to CMN :wave: nice machine that you have got yourself there :thumbup:

Jeremy


Topic author
mpolly
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2018 1:47 pm
Real name: markus polly
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 1 time
Flag: Austria

front wheeel bearing

Post #5 by mpolly » Fri Apr 06, 2018 8:49 am

hello there

are the front wheelbearings adustable?
one has a bit of play and the axle seal is leaking
or is this just ignorable?

yours

markus


essexpete
Posts: 2681
Joined: Fri Jul 13, 2007 12:43 am
Real name: essexpete
Has thanked: 449 times
Been thanked: 274 times

Re: my new jcb 3dmk3

Post #6 by essexpete » Fri Apr 06, 2018 9:07 am

I am sure our old 3Cs were on castle nut with taper rollers so quite easy to adjust. You have similar tyres on the front to those we used. Not best steering, particularly if a bit slippery but carried weight over the ground so much better than the skinny usual type.

User avatar

FOWLER MAN
Posts: 2141
Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2009 11:28 pm
Real name: fred evans
Has thanked: 947 times
Been thanked: 880 times
Flag: Wales

Re: my new jcb 3dmk3

Post #7 by FOWLER MAN » Fri Apr 06, 2018 5:20 pm

Hi Marcus,
Pete is quite right, but in my experience if they are set up right they don't need further adjustment unless there is something wrong.
Anyway its the usual thing ,tighten the nut then back it off about one flat to fit the split-pin.
Fred


Topic author
mpolly
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2018 1:47 pm
Real name: markus polly
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 1 time
Flag: Austria

Re: my new jcb 3dmk3

Post #8 by mpolly » Sat Apr 07, 2018 9:32 pm

hi experienced jcb fixin crew
thanks 4 the advise
i will have a closer look and then run fix/adjust or change
the misery i will ceep u posted

yours markus


Topic author
mpolly
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2018 1:47 pm
Real name: markus polly
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 1 time
Flag: Austria

Re: my new jcb 3dmk3

Post #9 by mpolly » Mon Apr 23, 2018 4:03 pm

hello old machinery guys

so i found the first leak
its the first hose from the pump to the filter
it leaks exacttly at the fitting connecting the rubber hose
with the on the frame welded hose.
first i will try 2 tight this fitting i guess and if this does not help
i will nedd to repace it
afaik it has partnumber 617/20400
so my querstion is: is there a hydraulic pressure in this part of the system
when the machine is turned off - is there a chance that i drain my hydrochassis when i try to
replace that hose?

i took a picture for better overview
Image


Jeremy Rowland
Moderator
Posts: 7098
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 8:36 pm
Real name: Jeremy Rowland
Has thanked: 1140 times
Been thanked: 950 times

Re: my new jcb 3dmk3

Post #10 by Jeremy Rowland » Tue Apr 24, 2018 7:36 am

Markus I am in the process of replacing lots of low pressure hydraulic hoses on the old Poclain excavator that I will one day set about restoring; technically if the machine has been stood a while there should be no pressure left in the system but it does not hurt to operate the controls with the engine switched off the relieve any pressure that is left in the system.
As for your other point then I would guess that you would lose your hydraulic oil if you take the pipe off so the only two answers to this are; either drain off the oil or find a bung of the same thread and quickly insert it where the pipe was fitted to the chassis as you remove the pipe which is what I have done on the Poclain where hydraulic oil freely flows through the hose that I have been replacing.
Remember you may need to block both sides of the hose to prevent oil loss I doubt very much that tightening the hose would cure the leak, it is also better to replace old hoses because if they blow under pressure then you would lose your oil so my advice is to replace them.
I would also look at the state of the hydraulic oil and if it is creamy in colour then it is usually contaminated with water so it may be worth changing the oil while your at it; yes with old machines one job leads directly to the next but you will get there in the end.

Jeremy


Return to “Loaders/Backhoes”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest