Lull before the maize and potatoes.

Discuss harvesters here

Topic author
modelman093
Flag: Great Britain

Lull before the maize and potatoes.

Post #1 by modelman093 » Sun Sep 13, 2009 6:08 pm

No decent rain in this corner of SE for weeks - ground rock hard.
Pics taken while dog walking on friend's farm this morning + one on same farm 45 years ago when I was a pre-college student with his father on the same land!
Angus
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Scooby

Re: Lull before the maize and potatoes.

Post #2 by Scooby » Sun Sep 13, 2009 10:32 pm

Interesting pics of yesteryear Angus. Thank you. Looks like the Viking had the same width drum intake as the cutterbar. I wonder if the drum was the same width as well ? And five 726s (or 780s). Could have been either in 1959 I think.

David.
Six up front .............................means plenty of grunt.

Image Image

Topic author
modelman093

Post #3 by modelman093 » Sun Sep 13, 2009 11:59 pm

Scooby wrote:Interesting pics of yesteryear Angus. Thank you. Looks like the Viking had the same width drum intake as the cutterbar. I wonder if the drum was the same width as well ? And five 726s (or 780s). Could have been either in 1959 I think.

David.

Hi David,
4 x 726 and one 726 Special. Yes, the Viking was almost "straight through". Very fast in a standing crop and fine on the flat but being a three wheeler not so good on banky ground or for that matter if too much lock and speed were applied when reversing! Having said that we had a "golden rule" rule of "no reversing in the combine field" . When there were six combines, assorted grain trailers and more often than not the fitter's truck in the field it lessened the risk of collisions!