Thwaites 7000 rear axle problem

Discuss dumpers here

Topic author
Tomf

Thwaites 7000 rear axle problem

Post #1 by Tomf » Tue Nov 05, 2013 9:35 pm

Hello all.
This is my first post and I hope someone can give me some advice please.
I have an oldish thwaites 7000 and yesterday it started making a groaning noise and the offside rear wheel locked up , I have disconnected the short prop shaft from the transfer box to the rear axle and the near side wheel turns freely when jacked up but the near side is solid . I am guessing it could be a bearing that's the problem . Anyone come across this before?
Many thanks, Tom

Jeremy Rowland

Re: Thwaites 7000 rear axle problem

Post #2 by Jeremy Rowland » Tue Nov 05, 2013 9:50 pm

Hi Tom and welcome :wave: while I am no dumper expert what I would say is that if one wheel is locked and the other turns freely and there is no brake that can bind the wheel that has seized then it is most likely that there is a wheel bearing problem. Remove the half shaft first (assuming that you can do that) if the wheel is still solid then you have solved your problem. Other CMN members will have experience of these machines as opposed to my mechanical experience so they may be able to offer you some better guidance. :thumbup:

Jeremy

essexpete

Post #3 by essexpete » Tue Nov 05, 2013 11:59 pm

Is the rear axle braked? (I ask because our old 2t 4000 is only braked on the front)

Topic author
Tomf

Post #4 by Tomf » Wed Nov 06, 2013 8:38 am

Thanks for the replies guys, from what I can see the front axle is the only one that has brakes.
Does anyone have any tips for getting the half shaft out please . Cheers

essexpete

Post #5 by essexpete » Wed Nov 06, 2013 8:56 am

It might help if you can clarify the type axle, there are probably folk here that can help. Is it the older style diff with thin tubes to outboard end or the more modern style with fat trumpets coming off the centre housing? Has the front axle got inboard oil immersed disc brakes?