Petter PH1 - spill timing and rack position...

Discuss dumpers here

Topic author
Fil
Flag: Great Britain

Petter PH1 - spill timing and rack position...

Post #1 by Fil » Sun Jan 28, 2024 10:13 pm

Apologies if this isn't the right place to ask. I appreciate this is more if an engine question than a dumper question, but in fairness it's fitted to my Winget 2S.

I've been messing around with petrol engines for about 35 years, but diesels, more specifically their fuelling systems, I'm not so familiar with.

I would like to get a better understanding of the relationship between the rack position and the spill timing.

The situation is as follows:
I've just finished doing a top end rebuild on the dumper, which has the Petter PH1 engine. New piston & rings, new cylinder, head gasket etc. I set the bump clearance correctly as you should when doing this job.
The engine now starts nice and easily at the first attempt after following the usual priming/starting procedure.
The engine runs nicely and I can get it to idle at nice steady 830 - 840 rpm. However, it doesn't seem to want to rev out to much more than about 1500 rpm. It's the 9hp @ 2000 rpm model, so should be good for another 5 to 600 rpm.
I set the spill timing at 28 degrees BTDC, with the rack set at 1/5" between the calibration mark on the rack and the spot face on the pump.
I'm not sure I've quite grasped the relationship between the spill point and rack position when it comes to timing. Have I missed something obvious that's stopping the engine revving to 2000 rpm? Can setting the spill timing at a different rack position help?
Any advice gratefully received!

cobbadog
Flag: Australia

Re: Petter PH1 - spill timing and rack position...

Post #2 by cobbadog » Thu Feb 01, 2024 12:26 pm