Thwaites Alldig

Discuss excavators here

Topic author
northyorkspaul
Flag: Great Britain

Thwaites Alldig

Post #1 by northyorkspaul » Tue Apr 24, 2018 8:20 pm

Hello,new member so thanks to the administrator.I have recently acquired a thwaites Alldig,I have seen posts from around 2009 about these but nothing recent,does anyone here have one or know anything about them?..Mine is a later model 1988/9 with Perkins engine,it's to use and ongoing restoration.My current problem is the backactor slews left fine but going right slows down and stops about halfway,I've checked the hoses..Does one ram push and the other pull?..any input appreciated!

Jeremy Rowland

Re: Thwaites Alldig

Post #2 by Jeremy Rowland » Wed Apr 25, 2018 7:34 am

Hi Paul and welcome to CMN :wave: I am no hydraulic expert but start with the simple things, is there sufficient hydraulic oil in the machine, is the connection to the operating spool valve okay? Make sure there are no airlocks in the system, does the rest of the machine operate okay? I am sure that other people on here like Fred Evans can offer you some good advice. :thumbup:

Jeremy

essexpete

Post #3 by essexpete » Wed Apr 25, 2018 9:44 am

You seem to have got the ram end disconnected. Do the rams operate in and out with no load? I can't really see but are the ram double acting with 2 feeds each?
Last edited by essexpete on Thu Apr 26, 2018 12:09 am, edited 1 time in total.

Jeremy Rowland

Post #4 by Jeremy Rowland » Wed Apr 25, 2018 10:24 am

essexpete wrote:You seem to have got the ram end disconnected. Do the ram operated in and out with no load? I can't really see but are the ram double acting with 2 feeds each?

Pete it does look like there are two feeds to each ram so double acting rams.

Jeremy

FOWLER MAN
Flag: Wales

Post #5 by FOWLER MAN » Wed Apr 25, 2018 12:59 pm

Hi Paul,